©

Cheltenham Festivals

FameLab Ireland has four regional heats in Cork, Dublin, Galway and Limerick, as well as a nationwide video competition. As part of FameLab Dublin, there will be mini-heats in DCU; Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland; Trinity College Dublin; and University College Dublin.

Regional heats: 

HEAT DATE   VENUE DEADLINE TO APPLY TRAINING DATE
UCD Thurs 31 Jan UCD Cinema Fri 25 Jan (5pm) Mon 21 Jan (12.30-2pm)
DCU Tues 12 Feb DCU (tbc) Sun 3 Feb (midnight) Wed 6 Feb (time tbc)
Galway Thurs 21 Feb An Taibhdhearc Fri 8 Feb (5pm) Wed 30 Jan (time tbc)
Dublin Fri 22 Feb Wigwam Fri 15 Feb (5pm) tbc
Cork Wed 27 Feb Triskel Fri 15 Feb (5pm) Fri 22 Feb (time tbc)
Video n/a n/a Sun 3 Mar (midnight) n/a
       

TCD heat details to be announced shortly. Come back soon!  

The order of the day

  • You will present your three minute talk to the FameLab judges.
  • The judges will ask questions after each presentation and will also give feedback where possible.
  • Winners who will be proceeding to the national final will be announced (*to the Dublin regional final for DCU, RCSI, TCD and UCD mini-heat entrants).
  • If a public audience is present, they may also vote for a special audience prize. Tickets for heats are available here. 
  • For all heats and mini-heats, a short sci-comms training/information session will be offered to all presenters beforehand. More details will be provided when you apply.

The rules

  • Presentations must be no longer than three minutes (content will not be judged after this time limit).
  • PowerPoint is not allowed.
  • No background music (unless this is what you are talking about).
  • Props are permitted but are limited to what you can carry on stage. There is no time for set up once on stage.

Can't make the heats? Why not apply by video instead!